Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 24th, 2007

petaluma.jpgI finally made my second visit to Petaluma to visit Rina after all these years . . . and come to think of it, Petaluma is only about a 45-minute drive from where I live. Right before noon, KV, Mandy, AC, Toby and I got inside my car and went on our “field-trip.” It was a nice drive up on Highway 101 . . . the weather was beautiful for a November day. Rina was shocked that morning when she found out that I/we were going to visit her. You see, I ALWAYS have her come down. Just kidding, but since this was my 2nd visit since 1992 (?), it was time that I took a drive up to thee country. It’s not like she lives hours and hours away . . . Anyhoo, Rina took us to Historic Downtown Petaluma . . . went inside a couple of “thrift” stores and bought some “stuffs”. (The hubs would call them “junk!”) Around 5’ish, we went to the Premium Outlets in Petaluma. (That’s the one Rina had built for me because she knew I would never visit her if there weren’t any shopping centers around.) Even thought it’s been opened for some time now, this was our first time (mine & KV’s) at the outlet. We had a great time. What was nice about it was that I was able to spend time with both of my high school buds. I told Rina I’d visit again . . . hopefully soon? For more pix, click here . . .

Read Full Post »

osha.jpg

This was my first year that I didn’t go out (Black Friday Shopping) at the same time the roosters would crow only because for 1) JP & AC are grown and no longer into “toys” and/or 2) many of my relatives’ and friends’ kiddies are also grown and are not into toys. Not like before, KV and I would leave at the crack of dawn to go to Toys ‘R Us at 5:00 in the morning. I remember one year when my familia spent the Thanksgiving Day holiday down in oshc.jpgSouthern Cali, I actually went to the nearest Toys ‘R Us where my cousin lives just so that I can get some good deals on toys. Last year’s was Target and some other stores. This year believe it or not, I went with the hubs to the Orchard’s Supply Hardware (OSH) in Moraga. I figured since I was already up at 6:00 a.m., I’d go for the nice drive through the redwoods and over the mountain despite the “nippy” weather. The temp were we lived was oshb.jpgat 38 degrees F but when we got to Moraga, I couldn’t believe the temp had dropped 12 degrees at 29. No wonder it was fricken chilly . . . but I had my Starbuck’s to keep me warm. An hour after we got back home, the hubs wanted me to go to Sears with him . . . while he “shopped” for the “tools” he wanted, I was to double park or go around a few times. The hubs is so good at just getting what he wants at the store, and he’s out of there. I took Toby with me. oshe.jpg

Read Full Post »

meal-001.jpg

meal-002.jpg

meal-003.jpg

meal-004.jpg

meal-006.jpg

meal-007.jpg

meal-019.jpg

meal-020.jpg

meal-021.jpg

meal-015.jpg

 

meal-016.jpg

pumpkin-flan-005.jpg

This was part of our Thanksgiving feast . . . “Filipino” Style! 😉 There were other dishes (not pictured) like the kare-kare and pinakbet, etc. too! As for thee bird, one of my other cousin had brought the turkey but I forgot to take a picture of it. The last 3 from the bottom are what I brought to the feast (mini cornbread muffins, the pumpkin caramel flan and the spinach dip.) Anyhoo, hope ya’ll had a great time with your family and friends during this Thanksgiving Day . . .

Read Full Post »

bros-visit1a.jpgThis past Wednesday, Bro and his familia were here from Texas to visit.  We got together with my bro and his two sons, Dan & Matt that afternoon.  JP had to work so we all went to “visit” him . . . we waited for JP to get off work then we all went out to dinner.  They came back to our house where we continued to catch up with whatever happenings in our lives since it has been a while we’ve last seen one another . . . except for the hubs who was able to visit with them in Texas last December.  It was nice seeing them . . . I would have loved to see my sis-in-law but I know because of their short stay, she wanted to spend the time with her family.

bros-visit1.jpg  bros-visit2.jpg

Read Full Post »

pumpkin-flan.jpgI found this recipe below in the San Francisco Chronicle (by Cindy Lee). I wanted something different instead of the traditional pumpkin pie so I baked it and brought it to my cousin’s house where we spent our Thanksgiving Day dinner. This pumpkin creme caramel taste just like the pumpkin pie sans the crust. However, I think I’ll still to my marble swirled pumpkin pie with cream cheese next year. . . I gotta have the “crust”! 🙂

Serves 8-10

This delicious alternative to pumpkin pie was created by Cindy Lee. The best part of this recipe is that you can make it tonight and leave it chilling in the refrigerator until everybody is ready for dessert.

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 whole cloves
  • 4 whole eggs + 2 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cups Libby’s solid-pack pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Instructions: Put oven rack in middle position of oven and preheat to 350°. Place an 8-inch glass pie dish in oven to warm up.

Cook 1 cup sugar in a heavy saucepan over moderate heat, without stirring, until it begins to melt around the sides. Continue to cook, stirring occasionally with a spatula or wooden spoon. Wash down splattered sugar on the sides of the pan with a pastry brush dipped in cold water. When sugar completely melts and turns a deep golden caramel color, take pan off heat and remove pie dish from the oven. Immediately pour caramel into dish, tilting it to cover the bottom and sides of dish. Keep tilting dish so that caramel cools and thickens enough to coat the dish, then let caramel harden. Leave oven on at 350°.

In a separate saucepan, bring cream, milk and cloves to a low simmer over moderate heat, and remove from heat when cream mixture begins to bubble at the edges. Set aside.

With a spatula or wooden spoon, mix whole eggs, yolks and remaining 1 cup sugar in a large bowl until well combined, and then mix in pumpkin, vanilla, spices and salt. Using a whisk, slowly add hot cream mixture into the pumpkin mixture. (Make sure you whisk it in slowly or you will end up with a chunky custard that tastes like scrambled eggs.) Pour custard through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl, scraping it through with a spatula. Discard the 1/2 cup of solids that do not go through the sieve. Stir contents of the bowl to combine well, then pour mixture over cooled caramel in pie dish.

Place the pie dish in a larger, ovenproof pan with sides that are as high as the pie dish. Open oven and pull out middle rack halfway. Place pan with the pie dish on the rack and fill pan with enough warm water to reach halfway up the side of the dish. Carefully push rack back in and bake until custard is golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 1-1 1/4 hours. Remove dish from water bath and transfer to a rack to cool completely. Cover and chill until cold, at least 4 hours.

When ready to serve, take creme caramel out of the refrigerator and run a thin knife between creme caramel and sides of dish to loosen. Shake dish gently and when the custard moves freely in dish, invert a large platter with a lip over dish. Holding dish and platter securely together, quickly invert the two and slowly lift up the dish, making sure that the creme caramel is coming loose. (If your custard is not coming loose, gently wriggle your dish or you may have to run your knife around the sides again.) Once the custard comes out, caramel will pour out over and around the custard. Slice and serve.

Read Full Post »

Spinach Dip

  • 1 (10 oz.) pkg. frozen chopped spinach, thawed (do not use fresh)
  • 1 16 oz. sour cream
  • 1 c. mayonnaise
  • 1 (4 oz.) pkg. Knorr vegetable soup mix
  • 1 (8 oz.) can water chestnuts, “chopped” or finely chopped
  • 3 green onions, finely chopped

 

spinach-dip-006.jpg

Squeeze spinach until dry. (I used cheesecloth to squeeze the spinach or a paper towel will do as well.) In medium bowl, stir together spinach, sour cream and soup mix. Add finely chopped water chestnuts and green onions. Cover and refrigerate 2 hours or overnight. Cut slice from top of round loaf of bread, hollow out loaf to leave shell to contain dip. Use bread removed from shell and top slice to cut into bite size pieces. Butter inside of bread shell, fill loaf with dip and place on platter and surround with bread pieces and variety of raw vegetables. . . and/or crackers.

Read Full Post »